Skip to main content

Creation and launch

A profile is a generated collection of fingerprints received from real devices and is a unique device for services. The profile stores information about the browser settings that have been set and launches the browser.

Create a profile

Profile creation

There are two ways to create a browser profile: quick profile and new profile.

A quick profile is a one-click profile created using a random browser profile thumbprint and a random name. Before creating a "Quick Profile", you can click on the OS icon and select the required one from the available list (Windows or MacOS). It is also possible to create a quick profile from a template (with a Base subscription and above), provided that the template has been previously activated in the Templates tab . To do this, click on the template icon in the same drop-down list. Such a profile can be useful if you need to quickly launch a profile with random parameters. In this case, the connection type will be direct by default (without a proxy). If, when starting such a profile, after creation, you use, for example, VPN, then the external ip address will be the VPN address.

Quick Profile creation

A new profile is a profile that is created allowing fine-tuning of settings before launch. You can read more about setting up a new profile here.

Profile launch

After creating any type of profile, it will appear in the table (general list of profiles). You must select the one you need and click the Start button.

Start profile

At the time of Profile Start, your connection will be checked and the selected automatic settings for the profile will be set.

For the Team/Advanced/Custom subscriptions, it is possible to use common profiles (main account) from different accounts (team members) of Octo Browser. To do this, you must invite team members and assign access rights, while the same profile can only be launched by one team member.

For subscriptions without teamwork options, you can use only one account from an unlimited number of devices, while the same profile can only be launched on one device.

You can read more about profile settings here.

Synchronization

Synchronization of these profiles works automatically. To send the latest version of the profile to the cloud storage, simply exit the profile, close the window, or click the Stop button in the client. Wait for the synchronization to finish. Now, when you run this profile from any device, the latest (up-to-date) version will be loaded.

If you are logged out of the client's Octo Browser account and the profile window remains open, the profile will be saved when you close the window or when you log back into your account and click the Stop button .

If you lost access to the Internet, and you closed the Octo Browser client or turned off the device, your profile will remain in the active (launched) state until the Internet on this device reappears and you start the client. When you restart and have an active Internet connection, the last launched version of the profile (which is stored locally) will be synchronized, and the profile status will change to inactive.

info

For the synchronization to work correctly, close all profiles and wait for the synchronization to finish before shutting down your computer. If your computer has gone to sleep and the profile has not been closed, then this profile will appear as running when you open the client on another device or for other team members.

If the profile was not closed on one computer, but you have a need to use this profile from another computer, you can force close (FORCE STOP). In this case, the profile status on the server will change forcibly, and you will be able to download the previous version of the profile (the version of the last successful synchronization), and the synchronization of the profile version on the computer on which the profile was not closed will be ignored.

In other words, the data that you received from sites and services on the computer on which the profile remained in a running state and with an active status will be replaced with data from the previous version of the profile.

Perform this procedure at your own risk. Some services are critical of such manipulations.